This month, Rethink Breast Cancer’s “The Underwire: breast cancer news you can use“, featured an article from the Vancouver Sun about the 10 super foods that could save your life.  I scoured the article looking for things I already eat regularly and more importantly for a glimmer of hope that my kids are actually getting some of the super foods in their very limited diet.  I was shocked to see that my kids are already well on their way to eating themselves healthy.  This was a real surprise as I was convinced that my lack of cooking skills was depriving my kids of a lifetime of health.

What do your kids eat?

The boys are huge consumers of “erries” – they eat so many strawberries, raspberries and blackberries that we have to buy cartons of them daily.  Cinnamon toast is a big staple at my house (recipe: toasted bread, butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon) and who knew it was a source of fibre, iron and calcium! Shocking!  I think most of us have “chocolate” covered and that’s a good thing as the cocoa flavinols found in chocolate “have more phytochemicals and antioxidants than green tea, black tea, red wine and blueberries”.   At my house we try to eat the “good” chocolate which for us means organic, darker and less processed.  That said, a good box of Smarties goes a long way!  No pumpkin (fibre, potassium, vitam A etc.) and no oats (benefits the digestive system) for my boys but it’s a big yes to grapes (vitamin C and potassium) and nuts (healthy fats).

These healthy food lists that help prevent cancer can sometimes be overwhelming but take a quick peak and remind yourself of what to eat more of (or less of!).  One way I can get a whole bunch of these foods in one shot for both myself and my kids is a shake.  All you have to do is pick a liquid base like low fat milk, yogurt, juice or water and add some “erries”, nuts, soy protein, vanilla, cinnamon and maybe even a touch of chocolate.  This yummy treat is a great breakfast to give everyone in the family a lot of good energy for the day.

How do you get your super foods?  Please share any great recipes with us and our readers!

Thanks,
Alison

source;http://rethinkbreastcancer.blogspot.com